Early Years Curriculum

Learning in Early Years
In Early Years the curriculum focuses on 7 areas-
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language 
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design
Within these areas there are 17 Early Learning Goals (ELG). Children complete a baseline assessment at the beginning of reception and are assessed again against the early learning goals in the summer term. 
For each ELG, teachers must judge whether a child is:
  • meeting the level of development expected at the end of the Early Years Foundation Stage (expected) or
  • not yet reaching this level (emerging). 
An Early Years Profile for each child is completed and results given to parents.